NPP elects regional executives

The governing New Patriotic Party (NPP) held the first phase of its regional elections over the weekend to elect executives to steer affairs of the party for the next four years.

Although some regions successfully elected their executives, the process was marred by allegations of vote-buying and court injunction.

Brong Ahafo Region

The Brong Ahafo Regional Election Committee defied a court injunction allegedly restraining the party from holding the regional congress to elect new regional executives.

The 29 constituency chairmen of the Party in the Region have signed an undertaken to hold the election.

The alleged injunction had delayed the electoral processes for hours, a situation which nearly attracted the anger of some of the delegates who arrived at the Pastoral Centre of the Congress around 0600 hours.

Though the Regional Electoral Commission (EC) failed to conduct and supervise the election, the Election Committee of the Party has set-up its internal EC to conduct the election.

As at 1540 hours, the Election Committee, Chaired by Mr Kwasi Adu-Gyan, a former Brong-Ahafo Regional Chairman of the NPP, had arrange ballot boxes and other electoral materials for the election to take place.

The Ghana News Agency reports that some disgruntled members of the Party in the Atebubu Constituency filed the injunction at a High Court at Wenchi in the Region.

However, Mr Adu-Gyan, who is the Director General of the Kofi Annan ICT Training Centre, said the Regional Election Committee had heard about the alleged injunction and it was yet to receive a copy.

Meanwhile, more than 600 delegates drawn from the 29 constituencies in the Region were expected to cast their ballots.

In all 31 candidates are contesting for the various regional executive positions.

Greater Accra Region

Chairman of COB-A Group of Companies, Divine Otoo Agorhom, was on Saturday elected the Greater Accra Regional Chairman of the party after beating his main contender Mr Alfred Boye with seven votes.

Of the total valid votes of 611, Mr Agorhom secured 276, Mr Boye, who until the election was the Acting Regional Chairman, got 269 and the third aspirant, Archibold Cobbina, the Greater Accra Regional Coordinator of National Disaster Management Organization, had 66 votes.

Nii Adjei Tawia and Madam Joana Frances Adda also secured maximum votes to occupy the positions of first vice chair and second vice chair respectively.

Nii Odarlai Parker is the new secretary, with Baba Seidu Issaka elected as his assistant.

Madam Grace Acheampong, Prince Obeng, Moses Abor, Rachael Tutu and Alhaji Kamil Hussain will also serve as the Regional Women’s Organizer, Organizer, Youth Organizer, Treasurer and Nasara Coordinator respectively.

Western Region

The Delegates’ Conference in Tarkwa ended successfully at the weekend with the election of Mr Francis Ndede Sikh as the Regional Chairman with 233 votes.

In all, 514 delegates participated in the exercise, supervised by the Regional Director of the Electoral Commission, Mr Stephen Opoku Mensah.

Nana Kumi Ansah won the first Vice Chairman position with 185 votes, beating Mr Alberto Takyi with 88 votes, Mr James Obeng Junior with 135 votes, Mr Abdul Mumin Issah 43 votes, and Mr Mohammed Ben Ali, 46 votes.

The second Vice chairman position went to Mr Ishmael Whajah with 193 votes.

Madam Abena Kwallah lost the same position with 115 votes, followed by Mr Samuel Otto, 64 votes, Mr Kojo Yiadom Boakye, 45 votes, Mr Gabriel Gyasi, 42 votes, and Mr Charles Cobbinah, 39 votes.

The incumbent secretary, Mr Charles Bissue polled 248 votes to beat his two contenders, Mr Okatekyie Amankwaa Afrifa and Mr Eammunel Acquaah who had 188 votes and 61 votes respectively.

Mr Samuel Adu Adjei maintained the assistant secretary position with 194 votes while his two opponents, Mr Ken Woode and Mr Samuel Kofi Abiaw lost with 84 and 48 votes respectively.

Mr Abdul Ganiyu Mohammed polled 230 votes to retain his position as the organiser, while his four counterparts; Mr Amoabeng Acheampong had 196 votes, Mr Kwame Kintoh 47 votes, Mr Kojo Acquah 18 votes, and Mr Baba Yiddana, seven votes.

The Women’s organiser position was retained by the incumbent, Madam Golly Antwi Boasiako, with 355 votes to defeat Madam Juliana Aidoo and Madam Agnes Naana Amoah, who had 99 and 64 votes respectively.

For the regional treasurer position, Mr Horma Akasi Mienzah defeated Nana Adjoa Appiah, Mr Simon Peter Akufur and Madam Esther Nyantatyi with 214 votes. They polled 195 votes, 10 votes and 73 votes respectively.

The youth organiser position went to Mr Benedict Addae with 142 votes whilst Mr Benjamin Paa Kwesi Moses had 138 votes, Mr Ishmael Bravo, 139 votes, and Osagyefo Kwaw, 78 votes.

Mr Al-Labib Shaman was elected as the Nasara Coordinator with 152 votes, whilst Alhaji Ridwan Ishaq lost the same position with 38 votes, Mr Onasis Aminu Abubakar, nine votes, Alhaji Adam Haruna Ahmed, 141 votes, Mr Alhassan Abdul Raman, 106 votes, and Mr Sidi Ibrahim-Ahmed, 54 votes.

The chairman-elect, Mr Francis Sikh, expressed appreciation to the delegates for giving him the opportunity to serve the Party.